Teaching with the Dear Canada series and I Am Canada series

If you have a child in grades four – seven, you have likely heard of the Dear Canada series (which I highly recommend for SS/LA).  These books are historical fiction, written in diary format by a main character during a specific historic event or time period.  Some titles that we have in the TLA library include:

dear canada 2 dear canada 3 dear canada 4 dear canada

…just to name a few!  But did you know that Scholastic has created multiple teaching resources called Teaching With Dear Canada ?  These are non-consumable resources that you can order through your Home teacher from the TLA library.  We have volumes 1 – 4 and each of them focus on 4 Dear Canada novels.  They give a timeline of Canadian history, story summaries, lists of thought-provoking discussion questions and engaging extension activity ideas.


Dear Canada also has a brother series called, I Am Canada (also highly recommended).  The main characters are boys and aimed at ages 9 – 12.

So far, we just have 2 titles in our library but I hope to be adding more in the coming year.

i am canada 2 i am canada

Scholastic has posted discussion guides for each I Am Canada book on their site.   Watch a video about this new series of books here on the Scholastic website.

Incorporating language arts and social studies by reading historical fiction is a great way to pique a child’s interest in history in a way that they can begin to understand what it might have been like during those periods of time.  I hope that you and your child will have a chance to check out some of these titles in the coming the school year.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *