Frequently Asked Questions

How To Modify Google+ Privacy Settings
This step-by-step tutorial reveals how to modify privacy settings in your Google+ account, after you've logged in to your Google account.
 
 

Step 01: Click Your +Name to Access Google+

Step_01_Click_Your__Name_to_Access_Google_.png
 
 

Step 02: Mouse Over "Home". Click "Settings" Tab.

Step_02_Mouse_Over_Home._Click_Settings_Tab.png
(1) Mouse over "Home" tab in the flyout menu to the left.
(2) Click "Settings" tab.
 
 

Step 03: Modify Privacy Settings for Posts & Interaction

Step_03_Modify_Privacy_Settings_for_Posts___Interaction.png
At TLA, we're sensitive to and protective over the privacy and security of our students. As such, we recommend you select "TLA School at Home Web Apps" whenever possible in your settings.
(1) Who can send you notifications?
- Choose "TLA School at Home Web Apps"
(2) Who can comment on your public posts?"
- Choose "TLA School at Home Web Apps"
(3) Who can start a Messenger conversation with you?
- Choose "Your circles"
 
 

Step 04a: Click "Customize" To Modify Who Can Hangout With You

Step_04a_Click_Customize_To_Modify_Who_Can_Hangout_With_Y.png
 
 

Step 04b: Modify Hangout Settings

Step_04b_Modify_Hangout_Settings.png
(1) In this example, I've previously created a "TLA" circle for TLA colleagues or students. For this circle, I'll click the drop-down table and choose the "Hangout with you" option.
(2) For "Everyone else", we recommend you select the "Send request" option. Please be cautious who you accept Hangout sessions from.
(3) If you choose to be notified (eg. by email) about Hangout requests, check this box.
(4) When you're ready, click the "Save" button.
 
 

Step 05: Customize Notification Delivery Options

Step_05_Customize_Notification_Delivery_Options.png
By default, your webmail address should be checked as a notification delivery option. You can add another email as an alternate address.
If you choose to be notified of requests via your smartphone, you're welcome to add it here. We don't think its necessary.
 
 

Step 06: Customize "Your Circles"

Step_06_Customize_Your_Circles.png
When you share posts, photos, profile data, and other things with "Your circles," you're sharing with all of your circles, except the ones you're just following (they're unchecked in this list). We recommend only keeping your TLA circles checked, to keep your posts of your school work private.
 
 

END: Click & Modify "Profile and Privacy" For More Privacy

END_Click___Modify_Profile_and_Privacy_For_More_Privacy.png
 
// END //
 
 


 Last updated Wed, Nov 19 2014 10:53am

Please Wait!

Please wait... it will take a second!